Approaching the end of final practicum

I just got back from my hometown, and still feeling homesick. Yes, we do feel the same way as we were in our first year of foundation. Home is where your heart belongs to. 😉

Another month to go for our practicum. 2 weeks are going to be the examination weeks, so no lesson plans for a few weeks! *phew!*

However, we have another problem here, while approaching to the end of our practicum- we start to feel a bit more lazier, and have lack of ideas for teaching our students. Most of the time, the lessons would be impromptu. Most of our plans did not work, instead, it went another way around. That solely depends on the situations of the classroom, the students, and the atmosphere. And as a teacher, you have to think quickYes, you have to…

Last week was a hectic one. Hence, a lot of teacher were not in the class. When I went into the form 1 class at 12.25 pm to start the literature lesson, most of my students were sleeping, looking so tired and demotivated.

“Ala teacher, we are so tired! We’ve been waiting since 10 am… We feel so sleepy teacher…”, a male student started to complain.

I said that I did not know that no teachers entered their class. I would’ve done so if they told me earlier.

“See? I’ve told you to call the teacher just now so that we can go back earlier…”, the same boy make another sigh.

I just watch the conversation and students keep whining over and over again.

So I decided to ask everyone to stand up. Another complain from the same boy;

“Ala teacher… not the same trick again! I know that you want us to do the ‘stand up and sit’ again…”

I said; “No. I am giving you this literature book. Still remember about our previous lesson about ‘Sad I Ams’ poem? Anyone of you that can answer the questions that I ask will get the chance to sit down. You can find the answers from the book. So if you want to answer my questions, just raise up your hand and answer correctly. Only then you can sit down.”

Another loud sigh of ‘Ala….’ coming out from my students’  mouth. But still, I had to bear  with them. I didn’t want to have a lecture and let the students sleep. That’s the last thing I would’ve wished for!

It’s a lucky day as all of them participated. I wrote down the points that they read based on the questions I asked about themes, moral values, and literary elements in the poem from the book. Lastly, I asked them to copy all the notes on the whiteboard into their literature notebook.

So, you won’t necessarily fail if you fail to plan, aren’t you?

Because future is something unpredictable… And you just have to make sure that the situation is under control.

Good luck! 😉

Bonus: Nah, belanja gambar favourite hari sukan 😀

DSCN1882

DSCN2009

DSCN1983

DSCN1923

DSCN1922

DSCN1919

DSCN1904

Leave a Reply

